- Describe NP practice in your state.
- Tell the class what your state laws are related to nurse practitioner prescribing.
- Include how many continuing education hours are required for your state.
Describe the importance of knowing the specific laws in your state pertaining to Nurse Practitioners prescribing medications
My State is Maryland. In order to become a Nurse Practitioner (NP) in Maryland State, one has to (i) obtain a graduate degree (master’s degree at the minimum) approved by the Nursing Board of Maryland, (ii) be nationally certified in one’s categories of nursing practice, (iii) apply for certification by providing social security number or federal tax ID number, (iv) Renew license as mandated (Nurse Journal.org, 2019). Maryland State was the 21st state in the United States to allow the independent practice of NPs without physicians’ supervision. However, prior to being allowed to fully practice independently, an NP ought to have a regulated collaborative relationship with a physician with full practice authority for a period of 18 months. In addition, NPs in Maryland State are recognized as primary care providers (PCPs) in state policy…..Please click the Paypal icon below to purchase full solution for only $5